The process of production

The problem with having a stash of yarn that you actually enjoy working with is the ever present difficulty in choosing what next to work with and sticking with that decision. Add the fact that you are six months into a two year self-imposed yarn buying hiatus and doing surprisingly well…well.

wpid-20150921_160441.jpg

 

I finally decided what to do with this yarn and I’ve recently been enticed by others beaded projects to do it like a boss.

I’ll be making Lucidity by Beata Jezerk. I’m eagerly anticipating making the square version but, I won’t be doing the crochet chains at the end. My pattern has been printed, marked up, and properly prepped for execution. And we all know how I am when it comes to planning. I suck royally. So, while I’m flaming out in a blaze of glory, I’ll be eyeballing a much simpler project I could have chosen instead.

 

I knew I was in trouble when I decided to start more than one project at a time. With K2’s vest coming along relatively smooth (after months of anguish, sleepless knits and frustration anything else (including miscalculated numbers) is a cake walk). With K1’s sockhead being plain stockinette, the deciding factor on the shawl of choice was complexity. Lace? I can do. Make it 1,700 yards of 2-ply woollen spun handspun? It’s a time commitment. Throw in some beads? I’ve just about lost my mind. It’s perfect!

At times like this, I’d barely be surprised if I finished all 1,700 yards and over 100 grams of size 10/0 seed beads within a months time AND before everything else. Isn’t that always how it goes?

20160603_115139-02.jpeg

Leave a Reply

