Often planned

We often wake up with plans in mind. Get up, get dressed, go to work, come home, cook, sleep, and do it all again. Of course situations and circumstances of us all vary on these things to one degree or another but, we all start a day with a plan. About two weeks ago while with friends I learned from one of them that she had an ailing brother. His situation was as such that he had a limited amount of time left and it was heartrendingly distressing. You could tell the stress and strain she carried being the bearer of the responsibility that came with that.

wpid-wp-1421226507151.jpeg

What was noteworthy about her situation however is her plan. I am one of Jehovah’s Witnesses. I’ve mentioned this before you may know something about my beliefs or you may not. The best thing I can say is to know TRULY what a Jehovah’s Witness believes is to ask them. Feel free to ask me if you wish. Being a Jehovah’s Witness I believe in the importance of engaging in the preaching work. That’s where we share our beliefs with others. On this day two weeks ago, that’s what my friends and I were doing. This particular friend with the ailing brother on this particular day would usually be with us however, her circumstances were such that on this “planned” day she had other pressing commitments to attend.

2015-01-25 18.39.02

Yet and still her plan of being engaged in the same activity that the rest of us, was so ingrained in her habits that even having other things to do (which she did). When given a free moment she came—briefly. I found that encouraging, I found her explanation of why she dropped by even more so. Her seeing the importance of what we do, and her always finding encouragement from it moved her to want to stop by and draw from that during such a difficult time. In that moment I decided I wanted to do something more for her.

2015-01-25 20.52.38

I had decided to make her a pair of socks because that’s usually my go to gift when I want to show someone I care or to make them smile however briefly. However, I didn’t have the right yarn in the color she likes and I wanted whatever I made her to be special; the color mattered. Perhaps a few weeks back you remember me discussing Lunar Galileo. I had swatched, and even began to knit on my decided upon item—a hat. You may also remember it was a complete and utter failure. I decided on another pattern and then another and then I also decided on another yarn.

I swatched some more. Finally two weeks later, I completed my needle selection and last night I began knitting Barley by Tin Can Knits It only took me six hours to make. All the details can be found here.

2015-01-26 00.11.31-1

Leave a Reply

