Lather, Rinse, Repeat

For those of you who know the show Friends the theme for the day is Phoebe’s Shower song.

What Type of Knitter Are You?

There are -in general-two types of knitters. One type, goes from pattern to pattern making what strikes their fancy or the fancies of those who they knit for. Their project profile varies and has no general theme or direction. Color may be the only thing making their items cohesive and even this isn’t definitive.

The other is what I’m personally seeing more and more of. The ones who enjoy a pattern so much they do it repetitively. Changing color, size, and yarn weight; maybe. These are the ones who often make one pattern a knitting craze in mere seeming seconds. Stitch Surfer  by Louise Robert, Color Affection by Veera Välimäki (even I want to make one of these), and Baby Surprise Jacket by Elizabeth Zimmerman (it’s alluring).

What Type Am I?

I am definitely not one of those knitters who jump on the bandwagon craze and let it overtake me with a feverish frenzy. If I do make the popular item it is usually after the novelty of it has warn off. In other-words, I’m often late to the game. Speaking of which I have a perfect example, the Fish Lips Kiss Heel by Sox Therapist. This was talked about months (I think) before I finally broke down and purchased it. Mind you its $1.00US. I can’t explain the resistance but, I’m glad I did purchase it. For the time being I don’t see myself making any other kind of heel.

I say this to say, many have knit the Pi Shawl. Which I’ll admit I don’t actually know which one. There are several in Ravelry’s database but they all seem to be designed by Elizabeth Zimmerman. That thing is humongous! I tried to justify knitting it for myself or someone else and honestly the only way I could was if I made it as a layette piece for a baby. But, to put that much work into a piece for a baby that is not my own (selfish I know), it’s just not worth it.

So I ask: What type of knitter are you?

4 thoughts on “Lather, Rinse, Repeat

  1. I definitely flit from one project to another by whatever takes my fancy. I don’t even have colour to unify then. I also makes things I personally don’t like for friends.

    Like

    1. For me: I do that for family/friends except often I initially don’t mind the item. It’s when multiple request come in back to back for the same thing that drives me nuts.

      Like

    1. I do knit multiples of the same. For instance: all my socks are ALWAYS plain. I just have yet to find a designed pattern I like enough to knit on a sock. But often I lose interest in other multiples fast. With the occasional exceptions. Age of Brass and Steam comes to mind.

      Like

Leave a Reply

