Requested: Spindles part 1

Updated: 051017*

I realized something today when I received a comment from a reader. Some of you (perhaps more than I realize) who take the time to read my blog do not craft in the same way I do. So at times I might mention something or show an obscure photo of a new item/tool and expect you to know what I’m discussing.

I recently started spinning fiber into yarn (as I’ve mentioned on previous post). To do this requires one of two types of tools in order to be productive at a reasonable speed. A spinning wheel or a spindle. These come in a variety of styles and sizes. Seeing as I do not have the space nor the funds for treating myself to a spinning wheel, and being a novice I wasn’t sure if I’d like doing it so I “invested” in one for a little under $8. Thanks Fiber Arts Supply Co.

Don’t let the price fool you. This top-whorl spindle does wonders. You can make thin, thick, and medium weight yarns all on this one. I think it would make a great plying spindle as well. (Which at present is primarily how I use this spindle.)
What makes it a top-whorl is because most of the weight is at the top for balance rather than the middle or bottom (those spindles exist too).

If you notice there is only one notch and a hook for holding the yarn. I have found that some techniques aren’t great can be a bit difficult on this spindle. Such as Navajo plying/chain plying as you spin.  It’s not impossible but, I found I struggle with this in the past. That’s where you take the single strand of spun yarn and turn it into a three ply by plying it back on itself. There a YouTube videos that demonstrate this if you can’t picture it clearly.

2017-03-20 13.20.07

Why do that when it sounds complicated? It helps preserve the color progression rather than blending random colors together. Example?

image
2-ply

 

wpid-20131231_134835.jpg
Navajo 3-ply

Notice the colors don’t blend? But rather go from one color to another. That’s Navajo/chain plying.

Spindles part 2: Turkish

Next post will talk about Turkish spindles.

*This is my personal opinion and experiences I’ve encountered while learning how to spin and trying different tools to achieve my goals.

One thought on “Requested: Spindles part 1

Leave a Reply

