Inspirations

I love to knit and crochet. I feel an immense amount of accomplishment just sitting and concentrating on a project only to complete it and have a finished product all ready to go and give to someone, anyone. Sometimes when I make an item I really don’t know who it’s for until after its finished. It reminds me of the novel Knitting where the character Martha would make garments and other accessories with no clear recipient in mind but, eventually find who it’s made for. It was like that for me with the 1×1 Rib Scarf and it’s like that now with the socks I’m working on.

I’m hoping it fits my six-year-old niece but, I’m not one hundred percent sure that it will. I got through this sock relatively quick considering it’s a sock and it’s me with my slow knitting we’re talking about here. I was reading Knitting Rules by the Yarn Harlot and I got through the book in about 2 days and it inspired me to work on the sock to completion. There is all these little tidbits in there about how consider things one part at a time and knit a certain step of a sock until you’re sick of it and by that point you’ll probably be where you should length wise. That sort of thing. Really nice read.

 

I like things like knitting books or novels about knitting because they inspire me to pick up my needles and go and I usually will a complete a project relatively quickly after getting started on books of that nature. I’m actually looking forward to completing the second sock. (Yay! for not having sock syndrome). I will have more pictures of the recipient actually in the socks once they are complete and I find who can fit them. Until next project…

Leave a Reply

